• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New Pickup

16 posts in this topic

Picked this one up today. but I am not too good at grading these brown coppers....

I liked the small offset strike on the obverse. Wish it was a small motto, but oh well....

Maybe an olive oil soak for a little while?

EF?

2c.jpg' alt='2.gif.9fc66b13abe5d736a39bc1a668f42ae9.gif' alt='2c'>.jpg'>

MM 893scratchchin-thumb.gif

Looks cool to me thumbsup2.gif

Is there anything that needs to be removed to warrant an oil bath?

There is a small greenish tinted spot under the 4 of the date. Not sure what it is, just thinking oil may help displace it before it does any damage.

I am trying the oil bath on a couple of coppers to see what happens. But it may take months before I can post results. sleeping.gif

I actually picked it up at a local jewelers. He had some old coins in some 2x2's that looked like they had been there forever. I was not thinking AU, more xf, but like I said, I am not too good at grading old copper.

That is a coin in hand photo.

Also picked up this one there. A little baggy, but MS.

1894o.jpg

MM cool.gif

I actually picked it up at a local jewelers. He had some old coins in some 2x2's that looked like they had been there forever. I was not thinking AU, more xf, but like I said, I am not too good at grading old copper.

That is a coin in hand photo.

Also picked up this one there. A little baggy, but MS.

1894o.jpg

MM cool.gif

Nice 2 cent piece, Hoot can help with the curating, But the Morgan is interesting as well,,,Whats up with the T in IGWT??

I am trying the oil bath on a couple of coppers to see what happens. But it may take months before I can post results. sleeping.gif

Coin doctor. devil.gif