• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SF Mint Commems: uncirc vs proof?

9 posts in this topic

I am interested in hearing collectors' thoughts on the relative merits of buying uncirculated versus proof versions of the $5 and $1 San Francisco Mint commemoratives.

I checked the enabling law and it requires production of both qualities:

Quality of Coins -- Coins minted under this Act shall be issued in uncirculated and proof qualities. Law [109-230]

You can read the law here.

As a collector, I'm not experienced enough to know why I would not pay the modest premium for the proof coin and skip the uncirculated version.

Rich

It's all about mintage #'s.

There are a few sets that there were more proof #'s than Ms #'s

So does that mean that, in those instances, the MS issues may have better appreciation than the proofs?

Both uncirculated and proofs fall into the overall limits for the denomination --100,000 for the $5 gold and 500,000 for the $1 silver. Will the mint issue each quality based on demand?

Rich

Historically, modern commemorative uncirculated coins have appreciated more due to their lower mintages. Proof are prettier so they sell better. Me, I collect them both for my commemorative dollar collection.