• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Nickel error
1 1

7 posts in this topic

I've been collecting coins for a few years but I know there are way more knowledgeable people than I. I found this 1994 nickel that caught my eye just because it didn't look beat up and I have always liked them. I know they make so many dinosaurs will be roaming the earth again before they are valuable. This one has an interesting looking line from the front of Jefferson's face and then again out the back of his head. I'm pretty sure it's not damage caused by use. I remember an error on the Sacagawea dollar, the eagle being speared or something so I thought it might be an error. Anyway any knowledge is appreciated. Is it something I should hang on to tightly and protect it for future value or is it something that people don't really care about and it'll never be collectible? Thanks for taking time to read this and pass on advice. Hopefully I can figure out how to add the pictures now!

mir_20241017_180923.jpg

mir_20241017_180945.jpg

mir_20241017_181022.jpg

Yes that is a good looking die crack it is called a double spike. I have one but it is not as nice as that. It is not worth a premium, but it is a fun find.  

Double Spike.jpg

Edited by J P M

Welcome to the forum

First, a die crack is not an error. Although some people may collect die cracks, there is not much    
value in them as there would be many out there with the same crack plus die cracks are fairly common.

Hello and welcome to the forum!

The Sacagawea dollar with the Speared Eagle is a die gouge that was made accidentally by a mint employee doing routine die maintenance but it is not considered as a mint error. Rather, it is considered a variety.