• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1967 Half Dollar
1 1

19 posts in this topic

This is the strongest reverse I've seen  on a coin. I bought it at a yard sale for $0.50. I know it's circulated, but it's my first time buying a coin. Did I get a good deal?

Picture_20241011065026.jpg

Picture_20241011065009.jpg

Edited by NewEra
Pictures upload failed

On 10/11/2024 at 7:54 PM, powermad5000 said:

Hello!  :hi:

Not really today.

I appologize for the incomplete post..I had trouble uploading the photos.

On 10/11/2024 at 10:05 PM, NewEra said:

This is the strongest reverse I've seen  on a coin. I bought it at a yard sale for $0.50. I know it's circulated, but it's my first time buying a coin. Did I get a good deal?

Picture_20241011065026.jpg

Picture_20241011065009.jpg

You got your money's worth for sure. It is worth close to $5 melt value.U.S. Silver Coin Melt Values | Silver Dollar Melt Value | NGC (ngccoin.com)

Edited by J P M

On 10/12/2024 at 8:35 AM, VKurtB said:

The lighting is iffy, but it looks like a nice album coin.

Thank you. Should I put it in an album?

The coin is lightly circulated and only worth its silver value--1965 through 1970 dated half dollars are silver clad, with 40% net silver content--but you can certainly place it in an album if that is what you want to do. It certainly was a good deal at face value!

On 10/12/2024 at 10:51 AM, Sandon said:

The coin is lightly circulated and only worth its silver value--1965 through 1970 dated half dollars are silver clad, with 40% net silver content--but you can certainly place it in an album if that is what you want. It certainly was a good deal at face value!

Was this transition due to the hoarding of silver or war efforts? What composition was used after 1970?