• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1998 Silver Eagle (planchet error)?
1 1

18 posts in this topic

IMG_20240918_1959203242.thumb.jpg.9d71216c256f20d43881f8fca1a9b443.jpgIMG_20240918_1958469172.thumb.jpg.879254e03905c055d5f736e11024a574.jpgHello, I am new to coin collecting, as well as this forum and am grateful for any future advice or responses. I have a 1998 Silver Eagle that seems to be an error coin that I can find very little information about. It's a little overwhelming to think that what info I did find is saying this would only be the second coin, so far, found with this error. I don't live close to a coin grading establishment and I'm  really not sure which direction to go.17267064593952838328957095258515.thumb.jpg.9ab155f1cbe4f83bbfd48f584c425aa2.jpg17267070716987882993237780799337.thumb.jpg.55ada868687deff60aff98fe2fd6296f.jpg

Where are you seeing an error? All I see is an obviously pocket carried piece.

Hello and welcome to the forum!

I as well see a "circulated" ASE. I don't think this actually circulated but it seems to have been in heavy contact with other coins as well as shows wear as if someone was rubbing this like a "lucky" coin. I used my phone to properly orient your obverse photo and tried to look for what may be an error and I do not see anything.

Could you describe what you mean by planchet error? Also could you tell us where you found some information that there is only one?

There is "what looks like" liberty underneath LIBERTY. Give me a few minutes and I will attempt to photograph. Underneath the flowers, behind her helmet is the best example, it's clearly a "B" or an "R"