• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Fake?

4 posts in this topic

I'm not a counterfeit expert, but I thought this one is not right. Sold on ebay  and was wondering what other's opinions were. Photos are sellers. Thanks jimbo.

s-l1600 (5).webp

s-l1600 (6).webp

Nothing that I can see in the photos, which aren't very clear or enlargeable, indicates that this 1891-CC Morgan dollar is counterfeit. It appears to be a VAM 4, with the clogged "G" in "God" found on later die states of that variety. See http://www.vamworld.com/wiki/1891-CC_VAM-4. The coin is in Very Fine grade, possibly "cleaned" due to its blotchy appearance, and with apparent whitish surface residue, perhaps from whatever chemical was used to "clean" it. Of course, a professional authentication would require in-hand examination and possibly tests of its weight and other attributes. 

Your Topic is fairly forthcoming, but failed to appeal to the innate biases and prejudices I was not even conscious I had. I sought out the item on eBay myself.  No luck. Not enough info to zero in on. So what was the problem?  Me!  Appearance is not enough...

[Aside: when I drove professionally many years ago, I picked up "THAT GIRL," Marlo Thomas, and took her from one fancy venue to another.  She was, at the peak of her fame and attired impeccably. I was enthralled, until she used the car phone (this was pre-cell) and opened her mouth, and was appalled. If I were to repeat the guttural language she used here, NGC will have quickly determined  that I had overstayed my welcome. Point is, without knowing who I drove, the viewer's interest flags. It's central to the story.