• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Kansas 2005 Several Errors Your Input Is Appreciated
1 1

23 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Hi, in need of your opinion.Is it worth it to put my coin in a junk box or try listing it. I'm fairly new to collecting,  yet this particular coin has my attention. Weighing at 6 grams.

CM240525-151649001.jpg

CM240525-151928007.jpg

Edited by Baby Jolynn
Spelling

Wow lots of damage from a corrosive of some kind

Posted (edited)

The coin appears to have been struck through a large amount of grease. Although technically an error its really just a quality control issue for the mint. When grease gets on the dies it can cause the details to be distorted, mushy and wavy just like the coin above shows. It's not worth a lot of money and is actually quite common. Some collectors like these as an example of a struck through grease coin. Cheers!

Edited by Mike Meenderink

Have to disagree with you Mike, not a greaser.  It is just badly corroded with no numismatic value.   
If it was grease filled, it would not affect the rims. That quarter has the rims partially mossing on both sides.   
Also grease filled would have a much smoother appearance and not show any of the copper core.

BabyJolynn   
If you are weighing coins, an accurate weight to two decimal points is required.

On 5/27/2024 at 10:15 AM, ldhair said:

Something corrosive created the pits in the surface. I'm thinking it's all corrosion.  

Clearly the corrosive thing was my attitude. :roflmao:

Posted (edited)