• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Collecting Russian Currency
1 1

10 posts in this topic

Hello friends,

I am new to coin collecting, and very inexperienced. I am primarily interested in Russian currency. I bought one coin from APMEX, but was a little nervous. I see here on the forum that most of you seem to back them. There was no grading service listed under the grade. 

Are there any experienced collectors out there that have recommendations on specific resources geared toward collectors of Russian currency? I have seen a lot of good-looking novelty coins, and would be easily fooled. 

Also, I would love to see your pieces. (The 1912EB Napoleon’s Defeat rouble looks really neat, and I saw that a certain version of the rouble is the most faked coin in the world!)  

Sorry to be such an amateur; I’m really excited. 

Posted (edited)

@MalachiteMaid Russian coin collecting is a small crowd there are some here who may collect coins from Russia not many that I know on here exclusively collects just Russian coinage.. A good place to lookup information is Krause world coin book … maybe do online search for Russian coin catalog ? APMEX is large dealer they can be trusted , I’ve only bought few silver rounds from them in past , however some of their world coins and USA coins prices can be a little to high you can probably find them cheaper else where … I myself don’t collect Russian coinage , but I mostly focus on German coinage … I’m sure someone on here will chime in on some Russia coinage

As for Russian paper money ? If that’s what you’re referring to as “currency” there’s a separate chat forum for paper money from around the world I provided the link if you haven’t been over there yet 

https://boards.pmgnotes.com/forum/3-pmg-forums/

Edited by Jason Abshier

Hey Jason,