• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

I need help with this coin please
1 1

6 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

It’s a Canadian coin. My grandma passed away and left me lots of bison and other coins. What would it be worth ? Is anyone interested in buying?

I am new to the coin collection 

IMG_0692.jpeg

IMG_0693.jpeg

Edited by Anthony223

Posted (edited)

What you have is a gold Maple Leaf, often just referred to as a Maple Leaf.   It is a solid ounce of gold produced by the Canadian mint and considered bullion coins just like the US mint $50 Bison coin you previously posted about and have put up for sale in the coin marketplace.   As a general rule these trade/sell very close to gold spot and as I type this gold is at $2,310 an ounce so you should expect to be able to sell it for $2,250 or perhaps a bit more.   The price changes practically every second so it could vary some depending on when and to whom you sell.

You can try and sell it here by posting this in the coin marketplace section of the forum as you have done with your $50 Bison coin, however, you are new and unless you can provide some references to prove that you are legit you might have a tough time selling.   Plus then you have to ship and insure the coin so that it arrives to the buyer safely and that both you and the buyer are protected if any shipping snaffu were to occur, all that can be a hassle for some people.  You can also take it to a coin shop in your area and sell it to them in person, you will likely be offered slightly less than the number I quoted above as the dealer needs to have some room to mark the coin up from his buy price.  The upside is you will avoid all the hassles of selling/shipping on the internet. 

Edited by Coinbuf