• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1869P 2Cent coin grading
1 1

9 posts in this topic

I found this coin while cleaning out my Mom and Dad's estate.  I am new to coin collecting and was wondering is this coin worth getting graded and if not what is the value of the coin? 

It measures 23mm and weight is 5.9 grams

1869P_obverse.jpg

1869P_reverse.jpg

I'm not sure it's genuine. Something feels wrong about the toning and the general condition of the coin. I can't say, I've never actually seen a 2 cent, so somebody more qualified would have to tell you. Only one million of these were minted, and judging from the condition of your coin it's worth around $95 if genuine. Overall, not worth sending in to get graded. You should only send a coin for grading if your sure it's worth over $100 dollars. Hopefully somebody will be able to tell you if it's a counterfeit or not. Good day.

I hope I’m wrong but to me it looks counterfeit.   
It is .3g light and a lot of detail seems missing.   
Is that the right colour or is it copper.

Looks like TPP both posted at the same time, glad we are both of the same opinion.

Edited by Greenstang

On 4/30/2024 at 2:05 PM, Greenstang said:

Hope I’m wrong but to me it looks counterfeit.   
It is .3g light and a lot of detail seems missing.   
Is that the right colour or is it copper.

Agreed. The color just seems wrong.

Agree. Something's off. With a coin that has light wear, we should be seeing WE start to wear off. Instead we get the granularity in protected areas, and that's inconsistent with the real thing.