• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

2005-D penny mint mark error?
1 1

8 posts in this topic

Hello All, Jim the Newbie here. Thanks to the moderators and commenters on this site. I have a 2005-D penny with an odd mint mark. I haven’t been able to identify this type of mint mark through Google so I need help. Is the mint mark an error?   Thank you. 2005-DObverse.thumb.jpg.f94fed9f8e766f8676649a92ff501d3d.jpg2005-DReverse.thumb.jpg.6a00111e065b4a2af8e7eff0f04481be.jpg2005-Dcloseup.thumb.jpg.3830034d729dfc2427106a40a3696767.jpg

Welcome to the NGC chat board.

Based on your photos, which are somewhat blurry, your 2005-D cent has a normal mintmark for that year.  What characteristic do you believe is out of the ordinary?

Please note that since the early 1990s, mintmarks have been included in each year's master dies and are no longer punched into individual dies.  Such die varieties as over-mintmarks, repunched mintmarks, and different styles or sizes of mintmarks used in the same year no longer occur.

Thanks for the rapid response. Your explanation makes sense (and explains why a google search wouldn’t have helped me). I thought the vertical line was out of alignment. I was hoping for an over mint mark but that sounds impossible the way they are currently made. 

Lesson learned. Thanks again for your response. 

On 3/24/2024 at 8:14 AM, Greenstang said:

Welcome to the forum

Even if it was a “over mint mark” which it can’t be, it would be a variety, not an error, big difference.

I’ve got a lot to learn. Funny, when I saw it and thought it was novel, I have to admit that my heart skipped a beat. Maybe it will be the next coin. Or the one after that. Or the one after that.