• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1986 penny errors
1 1

13 posts in this topic

I’m new to coin collecting. I was wondering if these 3 are errors. The coin is a 1986 penny.

Is this considered a wide AM Also is the 8 in the date and the E in LIBERTY errors?

Thank you in advance

IMG00004.jpg

IMG00005.jpg

IMG00006.jpg

On 2/29/2024 at 8:28 AM, Greenstang said:

There was no WAM or CAM in 1986, they are all the same.   
The other two areas are just damage. Value 1 cent.

Yes, but it is a wide receiver, and not a tight end. 

On 2/29/2024 at 7:38 AM, Velvethell said:

I’m new to coin collecting.

Welcome to the NGC chat board.   

Mint errors and die varieties are advanced topics in numismatics and will be difficult for you to grasp unless you have more basic knowledge, including the history and types of U.S. coinage; which dates, mints, and major varieties of specific types of coins are rare; grading, basic authentication, and how coins are made. In this case, you did not know that the close and wide "AM" varieties of Lincoln cents only exist for coins dated 1992, 98, 99, and 2000 or that these are varieties, not mint errors.  You also confused minor and common damage to a circulated coin with "mint errors".  

We have an old expression, "Buy the book before the coin!"  Nowadays you can learn from certain online as well as printed resources, but beware of the disinformation that circulates on the Internet.  Please refer to the following forum topics for essential and reliable resources from which you may acquire the knowledge that you will need to succeed as a collector.

You will also benefit from attending coin shows, coin club meetings, and other venues where you can examine a variety of coins and speak with knowledgeable collectors and dealers.