• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Inherited some US-Philippines coins - Keeping? Or worth selling?
2 2

4 posts in this topic

Hi All, 

Thanks for allowing me to join this group. I recently inherited some coins from the Philippines and would like to know if they are worth anything, worth keeping? , and if I should clean them and how.
I’ve been reading up as much as I can. I started with the 10 centavo coins as I have quite a bit of them. I selected the shiniest ones (I am a newbie and attracted by anything shiny!) and do know these were minted in Denver as they have the D.
I took a close up of the one which I thought was the best of the five as it still had details of the shield at the back unlike the others.

P.S.  I have the twenty centavos coins, a few 50 centavos and 27 pieces of the one peso coins (sadly, no 1906). What should I look out for in these coins in terms of which might be more valuable, scarce, etc? 

IMG_0524.jpeg

IMG_0525.jpeg

IMG_0385.jpeg

IMG_0539.jpeg

Edited by AForbesAU
added photo

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Well, I did a little looking into the ten centavos as the main subject of this thread. The mintage number of 1945 D ten centavos for the Philippines is 137,208,000 which basically means none of these are particularly scarce. As of 2/18/2024, the silver melt value of these is $1.13. While there is no given price guide value for these, there are some graded in the census at low amounts (most likely due to the popularity of these pieces being low in the marketplace, therefore less submitted). The majority graded between MS 64 and MS 66. There are some given gavel prices between $29 and $160 and randomly scattered throughout the grades which could indicate better or less better eye appeal of the sold pieces.