• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1987 P Quarter - God We Rust (instead of In God We Trust) and Filled in P error?
2 2

21 posts in this topic

Still trying to get picture taking down, I ordered a microscope with camera (I think) so that should help instead of this crappy phone app.

I have seen errors on this Quarter like this but not to this extent. The condition does not look good but I know there are collectors with different taste. Of course I am a total noob so what do I know?

Is this a legit error? It says God We Rust instead of In God We Trust which is kind of funny. Also, the P is filled in. 

If an error and a market how do I go about prepping it (clean it?) and marketing it? Please forgive my idiocy I am trying to learn. 

1987QobvGWR.jpg

1987Qrev.jpg

1987Qobv.jpg

On 2/12/2024 at 7:00 PM, Coinbuf said:

Your quarter is in very poor condition, lots of circulation damage and its impossible to say if this was a filled die or just circulation damage.   Filled dies are very common and minor errors, the TPG's will seldom acknowledge something this minor, and most informed collectors will not pay any premium for such minor errors.   Your coin is worth its face value of $.25.

Having said that, you will see this type of stuff listed on sites like ebay or etsy with huge asking prices by sellers that are looking to rip off other people.

Thank you for the thorough explanation!! I have indeed seen the big asking prices (I assumed they were scams based on the research I do) and I wondered if anyone ever bit on that stuff. It is sad people do that but buyers should also do their homework. There are so many caveats to all of this and I am slowly learning. I appreciate your reply!