• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1953 D Wheat Cent - Got it back as change from 7-11 today
1 1

15 posts in this topic

I am new to this obviously so be kind. I got this back in change today from 7=11 and it shines very similar to newer or "mint" types that I see. I am aware it is not best practice to hold with fingers but I suck with the photo taking aspect, suggestions are welcome. The pics do not actually do it justice so any suggestions I can try to retake. These are cropped to the max as I wanted to show detail so not sure if that corrupted the quality as it shines like a very new penny. 

My questions are, is it worth getting graded? What should I look for with errors on coins? I just do not have a good eye for it yet but I am interested enough to put the time in to learn. Is this a decent find given the circumstances?

IMG_20240117_223739362.jpg

IMG_20240117_223948942.jpg

Edited by TheKid316
Post new pics

A wheatie is always a fun find in circulation.   Far too much glare to be able to opine about the condition of the coin, try taking your photos with the coin laying on a black or white surface and then crop.  

Edited by Coinbuf

In addition to Coinbuf's suggestion hold your phone close to and directly above the coin while resting your hand on something.  Make sure it doesn't get blurry while zooming in before posting.

Ok I have some practicing to do, the color is so unique it is difficult to capture. Almost an orange-ish shine to it. Maybe these will help and maybe not. I am going to work on it more.

IMG_20240117_233857725_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240117_234214221.jpg

IMG_20240117_234904359.jpg

IMG_20240117_234344242.jpg

IMG_20240117_234146914.jpg

Hello and welcome!