• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help should I get graded
1 1

30 posts in this topic

I have a 1964 D penny with what I think is a mint error but ain't sure . Please look at it and let me know if I should consider getting it graded. To see what I can get for it. I think the  "L" in liberty is in the stamp line. I ain't sure if I am even correct on the error. If anyone sees anything please feel free to point it out. I am very new at this.20231230_222649.thumb.jpg.ad344ac8f04f07d7bb0022117099484b.jpg20231230_222713.thumb.jpg.dcbafab1e474062291da35d138cad72f.jpg

There are numerous books available as well as other information on line that can teach you the basics of coin collecting. It would be to your advantage to read some books on basic coin collecting before you waste time looking for things you know nothing about. During the process of reading you will learn about error coins, variety coins, damaged coins, cleaned coins etc etc...some basic knowledge is needed to participate in this type of collecting or any collecting just to ensure you do not get hoodwinked or mis lead by someone with ill intent. Many new collectors loose a large amount of money buying junk and fake error coins.

Hello and welcome to the forum and to the hobby!

The cent you presented here is very well worn and slightly damaged. It is worth face value. The L of LIBERTY was normally close to the edge of the coin and in the case of your coin the rim wearing flat gives it the appearance of being in the rim itself.