• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1984 p penny
1 1

6 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm David and by far no professional.  I've been collecting penny's now for I guess two years. Earlier today I was going through a roll of penny's and I came across this 1984 penny.  Immediately I looked at Lincoln's ear but then something else caught my eye. I thought maybe this is a die clash mule coin because the columns are showing on the obverse side. Id really appreciate any help you guys and gals could give me. 

Screenshot_20231214-215123_Photos.jpg

Screenshot_20231214-214934_Photos.jpg

Edited by David Broussard
Typo

Welcome to the forum, die clashes are not mules, two very different things.   Your Lincoln cent shows a very nice and dramatic clash with the reverse columns showing on the obverse.

One other thing I've found.  Usually when I open a roll of penny's I pass a magnet over them. Well one day I did so and one stuck. First thing I thought, a 1944 steel cent. Well regretfully it was a 1943. Just my luck.  I've read various appraisals on this coin and to be honest,  I don't know what to think. Here is a pic. I've done some research about coin appraisals or certifications close to me and there are none. So when I find something I can't have anyone look at them.

IMG_20230527_144218.jpg

IMG_20230527_144226.jpg

IMG_20230527_151839.jpg

IMG_20230527_151913.jpg

IMG_20230527_151932.jpg

Edited by David Broussard

Welcome to the NGC chat board.