• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1979 P Susan B Anthony
1 1

15 posts in this topic

I'm a newbie to getting coins graded.

This coin was given to me and I'm debating if I should grade it.

What are your thoughts? This is my attempt to see if its worth it and I believe this is an uncirculated coin.

IMG_3785.jpeg

IMG_3786.jpeg

On 11/17/2023 at 12:51 PM, Coinbuf said:

Welcome to the forum, the answer is simply no, it is not worth the cost to submit.   Your coin does not appear to be uncirculated from these two photos.

Thank you.

I've been wondering which coins are worth getting graded. In your opinion, how you determine which coin should be graded versus one that shouldn't?

Unless a coin has a value of at least $200.00, it is not worth the $65.00 or so to get graded.  
Usuallly only high grade or rarer coins get graded unless you have a personal reason.

Out of curiosity, what is it with “newbies” that they want to get regular business strikes graded?   
Please don’t say you saw it on YouTube that they are valuable.

Uncirculated \ Mint State grade has about 10 sub-categories (MS60 through 70), which includes additional considerations, such as level of mint luster.

From the images, right off hand, I would say that the grade may be AU (almost uncirculated), rather than UNC.

On ebay, the value varies.  Here is an ebay search for 1979 P MS 62, 63, 64, "buy it now"

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_oaa=1&_fsrp=1&_from=R40&_nkw=1979&_sacat=11982&LH_BIN=1&Mint%20Location=Philadelphia&rt=nc&Grade=MS%2063|MS%2062|MS%2064&_dcat=11982

General value for a normal, high MS, dollar is about $30.

I would say that it is not worth the investment to have it submitted for grading\certification.

(Images are MS64)

s-l1600 (1).png

s-l1600 (2).png

s-l1600.png

Edited by dprince1138