• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Thoughts on getting Some El Cazador Shipwreck Coins Submitted and graded as Genuine
1 1

19 posts in this topic

Hi All,

I am fairly new to coin collecting and have really been fascinated by the El Cazador shipwreck coins.  So much so, that I have been able to collect  1/2 Reale, 1 Reale, 2 Reale, 4 Reale and an 8 Reale from the shipwreck.  The only two Reales that are not in the NGC Slab are the 1 Reale (1783) and the 4 Reale (1778).  Would it be worth it to have these two coins graded and slabbed by NGC?  I have a document of Authenticity for each coin.  Below are the front and back of the coins.  Thank you!

image.png.4c2d549520e224d5ec2dd13b043f2af4.pngimage.png.353903e926826e41200270b789f3ae91.png

image.png.db26d8c9bb2be43b3fa26a0626d44aa2.pngimage.png.6aa6845da3d8a9cb66bcfc3f5752df00.png

I am curious as to the provenance of these coins that you own. I have an El Cazador shipwreck coin. As far as I was aware, the entire coin stash was put into holders and sold off by other coin companies. I was not aware they let any "loose" specimens out. Are you sure of the provenance of the coins other than your certificate of authenticity? Who created the certificate?

The following is the coin I was able to obtain at the time and came with a certificate of authenticity.

IMG_20160724_144534.jpg

Thank you. Interesting. Makes me wonder then how many fingers were "in the pot" when these were recovered. Well, as far as I know, NGC will require this document with your submission. If it were me, I would definitely submit these coins and have them certified as such. You should contact NGC and ask them if they return your original certificates you submit with the coins as if it were me, I would want those certificates back.