• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

? About 1827 50c. Caped bust
1 1

6 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I have just acquired a really nice 1827 50C. Drape bust square base 2! And this coin is by far the best drape I have ever found. Just wanted to check with everyone to see if this coin would be worth getting it graded bu NGC? I have never done this before so any information helps greatly!!

thank you all and have a blessed day!

4469E780-5A7E-46D8-8DD6-079146D26BB1.jpeg

93E183DB-58DF-481D-A47B-A3E393C98740.jpeg

Edited by $ton3R

Welcome to the NGC chat board.

Your 1827 Capped Bust (not Draped Bust, these being the types dated 1796-1807) half dollar has details in the Very Fine range, but its unnaturally light gray color and the hairlining that I can see in the photos indicate that a grading service would likely "details" grade it as having been "cleaned". In my opinion, it wouldn't be worth the cost of third-party grading.

It is important for you to learn when a coin will likely be regarded as "cleaned" or otherwise impaired, especially if you intend to purchase uncertified coins. Some may still be worthwhile for an appropriate discount. I created a "Custom" NGC Registry Set depicting the certified coins in my collection that were described as "cleaned" and attempt to explain what to look for.  Characteristics of "Cleaned" Coins - Custom Set (collectors-society.com). Compare their appearance with the early half dollars that were numerically graded in my regular set, which also includes the "cleaned" and otherwise impaired certified pieces. Set Details | NGC Registry | NGC (ngccoin.com).