• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

cleaned vs stained
1 1

12 posts in this topic

hello everyone.  I have seen a lot of cleaned details grades but never a stained details.  this coin was rated UNC STAINED so I am going to assume that is a pretty good grade being UNC but beside a nice collection piece, I am assuming no way to sell it or get any sort of value?  Any help would be appreciated.

stained liberty1.jpg

stained liberty2.jpg

I'm a newbie when it comes to coin collecting but I wouldn't buy this coin. When it comes to coin collecting you want coins that are as close to perfection as possible not damaged or stained. To be honest I'm working on two sets currently with one being a set of NGC graded MS64 Peace Dollars. Hope this helps.

Irregular or blotchy discoloration of this sort is sometimes referred to as "staining" by both NGC and PCGS. NGC classifies it as an "environmental effect" and defines it as follows:  "STAINED coins display discoloration but not corrosion. More often than not such staining is irremovable. When isolated to one side, it is described as OBV STAINED or REV STAINED."  See NGC Details Grading | NGC (ngccoin.com).

1923 Peace dollars are abundantly common except in "gem" (65 or higher) uncirculated grades, and one that is impaired like this one probably isn't saleable for more than $25-$30.

On 7/15/2023 at 6:58 PM, Sandon said:

Irregular or blotchy discoloration of this sort is sometimes referred to as "staining" by both NGC and PCGS. NGC classifies it as an "environmental effect" and defines it as follows:  "STAINED coins display discoloration but not corrosion. More often than not such staining is irremovable. When isolated to one side, it is described as OBV STAINED or REV STAINED."  See NGC Details Grading | NGC (ngccoin.com).