• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

American Eagle 2018 One Ounce Gold Proof Coin
1 1

7 posts in this topic

Dear all,

I am relatively new in coin collecting and I would like to have expert opinions about this coin.

I read some generic information on the American Mint website: https://catalog.usmint.gov/american-eagle-2018-one-ounce-gold-proof-coin-18EB.html

And more generally on the America Gold Eagle program on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Gold_Eagle or on the NGC website

In particular, several points remain obscure:

1) Are the minting differences between the proof and the bullion only in the addition of the "W" mark of the mint and the higher production standards, or is there something else?

2) More generally, are there appreciable differences between the 1986-2020 versions?

3) I don't get the quantities produced, on the mint website (first link) it says: Mintage Limit: None Product Limit: 25,000 Household Order Limit: None

But how many of these coins were effectively produced?

4) Could you recommend some authoritative texts where I can find detailed information?

5) Finally, the aforementioned coin (which I like very much) was offered to me by a very serious and reliable seller (in the original mint condition). Which would be a fair price (also considering the current value of gold)? Could this coin have future collectible value, having been produced in limited quantities and in relation to the popularity of the American Gold Eagles? (I am thinking to both the US and European market)

I thank you in advance for the information which I am sure you will provide

Marco

2018.jpg