• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Strange Mint Mark - 1884 Morgan Silver Dollar

20 posts in this topic

Hello All!  Newbie here.  Cal in Tyler, Texas.  I am very inexperienced with coin collecting but very much looking forward to learning all I can - and avoiding the pitfalls - as I begin to build a coin collection.  I am happy to find this forum and anxious to take advantage of the collective knowledge and experience of the members here.

My first question - can anyone provide any advice as to the strange mint mark on this 1884 Morgan dollar?

Thanks in advance for all guidance and advice!

1884 Morgan Mint Mark.jpg

Thanks for the replies!  Here is a picture of the obverse of this coin and a close to the mint mark as I can get with this camera.  I will get a better close-up of the mint mark posted tomorrow.

1884 Morgan MM.jpg

1884 Morgan Obverse.jpg

Looks like a weakly struck coin with a filled mintmark. The diagonal line is damage to the coin. Poorly defined Morgan dollars from the New Orleans Mint were common for them. The Mint did not have sufficient planchet annealing (softening) capacity to meet production demand from Washington HQ. Hence, many planchets were too hard to take a full impression under normal operating conditions.

Edited by RWB

2 hours ago, RWB said:

Looks like a weakly struck coin with a filled mintmark. The diagonal line is damage to the coin. Poorly defined Morgan dollars from the New Orleans Mint were common for them. The Mint did not have sufficient planchet annealing (softening) capacity to meet production demand from Washington HQ. Hence, many planchets were too hard to take a full impression under normal operating conditions.