• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie confused on coin values

7 posts in this topic

I apologize in advance for the size of the screen shot. I’m hoping someone can help clarify my confusion. I am very new to coins so please don’t be mean if my question seems unreasonable. I signed up to receive emails from Heritage. The photo is a screen shot of a recent auction.  To me, the coins that  sell for so much money seem like any old average coin, especially considering I have a lot of them in my recently inherited collection.  While I somewhat understand the value depends on grading and everything else value it entails, how would a person like me know if any of my coins are as valuable or valuable at all?  What would be the most standout things to look for when going through my collection? I’m still trying to figure out where to start in getting a better grasp on what I’ve inherited. 

BEB4EB97-B954-4B92-B504-04E4A4431B54.png

If they hammer for stupid money, there's something about them. Either they are rare in that particular grade, or they don't show up very often, or there's some other reason. I can't read the pic so I can't tell specifics, but what people actually pay for a coin is the coin's best value data point.

First thing to do is to get a RED BOOK.  Second is to get a Grading guide.  something like PhotoGrade  or some other grading guide.  There are plenty online with pictures.  Be very carful of the areas that are of most important for that coin.  then have fun looking through the lot.  Sort the ones you think are the best and ask a reputable coin dealer.

1 hour ago, Kimm said: