• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1982D small date ??
1 1

13 posts in this topic

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie with a strong passion for understanding and knowledge of the u.s. coins. I've been reading books mostly on error coins then applying what I've learned to the mini Collective coins I have I feel confident in several areas of the process of making them and then the eras of most coins but I am at an area that as soon as I think I have it I don't. It's the small date large date I'm stuck and can't go forward if someone would please tell me if this 1982-d is a small date or a large date and how you know would be great thank you in advance for reading and hopefully replying to my post.

Picture_20204813024837.jpg

Ok! soooo what I see from the link GWLange sent me is that the 1 is high and level with the 8,2.also, the tail of the 2 is pointed up or different than the lg date? Any other markers I'm missing? Sorry to ask so many questions but if I don't I won't know. Thanks 

This probably one of the most asked questions on any Forum. Everyone is looking for the extremely rare 1982 copper Small Date D cent of which there are only 2 or 3 known to exist.

The following photo  may help you in distinguishing between the two.

There are 3 basic differences in the date.

1- The top of the 8 on the Small Date is smaller than the bottom. (Looks like a snowman) On a Large Date it is closer to the same size.

2- The two on a Small Date has a slight curve near the bottom. On a Large Date it is straight.

3- This is what I go by for an instant recognition of the differences without having to look to closely. On a Small Date, the 2 is farther from the rim than on a Large Date.

1982 small large.jpg