• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question about 1943 Copper Penny Submission

5 posts in this topic

I've never submitted a coin before.  And I'm new to all this.  That being said I'm an antique dealer, I typically only sell any coins I acquire at low book, ungraded at my shop.  Then I ran across this guy in an old Whitman penny book from 1949.  There were other coins in it as well, but appeared to stop collecting in 1960.  Hand written labeled holes were empty past the 1960 date.  What I can tell you about the 43 is, non magnetic, weighs 3.1g, doesn't appear to have an altered date.  The coin dealer I took it to put it on his x-ray machine which showed it was 99% copper 1% zinc and tin.  I know it's supposed to be 95% copper 5% zinc and tin.  That being said he couldn't rule out it was real or fake.  He was at the same % as me, 5%.  But he told me to submit it to find out for sure.  I'm skeptical, but dreaming, it's in my nature. I'm a bit confused about the tier system for submission.  Do I pick a low tier and submit it as a fake? Or do I have to claim it as an upper tier coin when I submit it and have to pay $250 for them to tell me it's a fake.  Feeling a bit confused on what to do here, any help appreciated.  Btw, face pictures were taken in sun, back was inside. Thanks, Matt

IMG_20190420_193153.jpg

IMG_20190420_193202.jpg

IMG_20190425_155338.jpg

Best thing to do would be to email or call NGC they will help you over the phone with a more depth explaining how to submit this coin ....