• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Getting coin graded

7 posts in this topic

I am basically new to this grading stuff.

I just purchased the American Eagle 2018 One Ounce Palladium Proof Coin. How do I handle this coin to maintain it's maximum value and should I send it in to get it graded and slabbed? I want to do whatever gives the coin it's maximum value and what is proper to store it to maintain it's full value.

Another thing to sum it up for me what is the proper process to get coin graded?

Any help or ideas you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone!

Ed 

Hi and welcome.  First you must decide:  are you collecting coins or storing bullion?  I buy the American and Canadian gold coins, brilliant uncirculated, as bullion and do not have them slabbed.  I store them in the package they came in.  Hope this was of some help.  :)

Hi Alex in PA. Thanks for your reply. I guess for most of my coins it is more of a bullion type collection. It is based on the precious metal value then what the coin actually is. As for the American Eagle 2018 One Ounce Palladium Proof Coin I have coming it is not for the weight in palladium. The coin actually cost way more then the current value of an ounce of palladium. This is the reason I am trying to figure out the proper handling and or grading of this particular coin so that I keep maximum value of it. As an investment it would be a shame to mishandle it by the way I store it or not having it properly graded and losing maximum value of it.