• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How did you get your start in Numismatics?

13 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I have been collecting coins since I was around ten years old! I was fortunate to have met a dealer who was inspirational in getting me going in the hobby. At that time he was in his 90's, this was 1993, and he was a veteran of both World Wars. I was told later in life he was a highly decorated General. My story started with me begging my older brother to buy me a coin, he annoyingly gave in and slid me five dollars. I gave it to the General who was happy to sell me a circulated but nice 1934 Walking Liberty Half Dollar, that I have to this date. I have been hooked since.

I have a huge interest in early federal coinage, confederate currency, world crown coins, and Imperial and Republic Mexican coinage.

I collect because I feel like owning a particular coin connects me to the history of its time. A youthful perspective perhaps but it's what keeps me going in a sometimes unforgiving and expensive hobby.

So there is my story, I wanted to start it and this topic in the hopes that others will share their story.

Take Care

Mike

It's hard to say exactly when I became interested in coins. But it was when I was just a little kid.

I had this small pocket factfinder, which I would read all the time. In the Government, Law, and Finance section there was a short part about money. This was one of the things that probably first sparked my interest. I still have that book in fact:

10rv8d1.jpg