• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Just bought 20 BU 1898 P Morgans

20 posts in this topic

I'm still a novice collector and new to coin grading (6months of practice) so Im a bit scared to send in 20 Morgans as that's a huge chunk of change. I took a top shot of all 20 and a close up of 9 randoms front and back. A few have a few rim dents but all in all I believe there all ms. What do y'all think? Any help would be great as to submitting them or not. Sorry pics are not better....

imagejpg1_zps0eb73b3b.jpg

imagejpg5_zps8384769f.jpg

imagejpg5_zps8384769f.jpg

Being relatively new to numismatics myself, my advice would be to put it on the shelf for now. .. meaning, the fact that you are having to ask whether or not you should send them should mean that you should not send them. .. not YET anyways. As your eye develops, you can then go back and inspect these coins to answer your own question for yourself. Do not rely on anyone else's answers because often they are incorrect anyways based on my exp. (I'm talking specifically about asking if this it that coin should be graded, in an open forum like this) obviously if you could have a dealer you trust look at them in hand, that would be a diff story. I see alot of people waste alot of money because they send coins for grading before they have developed their own eye/skills/exp/etc... learn to see a coin first, then learn to grade one, then do or don't send if it does or doesn't make sense.

That said, the pics are not good at all (no offense) but based on what I think I can see, I would say DO NOT SEND FOR GRADING. I see issues, possibly polished/cleaned coins, At the very least they all look lightly circulated at least.