• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grading Peace Dollars

22 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am new to collecting and submitting coins to NGC for grading. I am having a difficult time telling the difference of a AU 58 and a MS Peace dollar. I recently received back a 1927 and a 1935 S graded AU 58 that I can not find any indication of circulation when compared to a MS coin. One of the coins has low luster and the other has a soft strike. It seems that the coins are getting down graded as circulated because of luster and strike. If anyone has any tips on how to tell a AU 58 Peace dollar, I could use some help.

Thanks,

Hack

Tilt the coin and look for incomplete or irregular luster. If the coins are in plastic slabs it can be difficult to see all the surface detail because the plastic and internal refraction can interfere.

The major authentication and grading companies seem to be more strict with Peace dollars than with Morgan dollars, but that's a question for the NGC mavens.

Ive also noticed that NGC Peace $ grading has tighten recently. Not in the MS to AU manner but coins that I thought would grade 64 are now 63 and 63 is now 62. Not much help for you but it might just be a tightening across the board.

Distinguishing the difference between an AU58 from an MS63 Peace dollar is one of the most difficult (if not the most difficult) part of grading this series. I've received more than a few AU58 grades myself.