• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is the MS70 look stable

34 posts in this topic

I have been collecting for 5 years and in this time I have mostly collected early wheat cents with the MS70 look.

I can not say for certain any of my coins have had ms70 used on them but I do know that the ones with the look I have had for nearly 5 years have not had any changes. I have owned a few that other collectors owned for years prior to me that appear stable.

Curios what other collectors experiences are with these types of coins.

Do you think that collectors accept the look as MA?

Do you think the tpgs find it MA?

I asked both separate since the habits of each other surely play a role in what is slabbed and collected. Not sure who has the most pull here.

I have two that for sure were treated with MS70 ( Iknow this as I was the one that did it while experimenting to see the results) which then were holdered by a TPG and have remained stable since.

Some collectors consider it MA, many do not. Myself TPG blessed or not if I feel that a copper coin's color is the result of MS70 or some other substance I might still buy it but only at a steep discount.

Both TPG's were rather loose with the MA of this look five or so years ago, NGC has since been much more stringent about holdering MA coins than PCGS seems to be of late,

Can you post a pic of your 2 coins?

How long have they been stable?

I find it very difficult to find blue toned wheats at any discount but that my be because I am looking at pre 1920 and already holdered

I find it very difficult to find blue toned wheats at any discount but that my be because I am looking at pre 1920 and already holdered