• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Noob in the house

12 posts in this topic

This is my first time venturing over to the NGC-NCS forums. I'm usually only in the comic book section. I became curious as to how often someone finds a rare or valuable coin just from regular everyday change? Does it happen? Are all the rare coins already in collectors hands? I bring this up because I keep a coin jar and every few month I dump them coins out, roll them up and keep them all in a stash. Have been doing this for about 2 years now and pretty soon I'll be able to take a nice vacation with the fiance. When i was going through my coins, this was the first time I started looking at them, I found a few older coins but nothing extreme, just old. A 1939 penny and two others were from the 50's I believe one of them being a nickel. I went to the PCGS website to do a little research but its really hard to follow if you don't know what your looking for and I definitely don't.

Anyway it just got me thinking of all the collectors on here, and was curious if anyone has ever kept a coin jar that they would throw money into and found something valuable? I love hearing stories like that! Thanks all!

I have a 5 gal bottle that I keep dimes, nickels, qtrs, a few halves and sba's in. Another just for cents. I always check all coins before they go in either. Never really found anything good in change. Couple wheaties and and may a 50's nickel. No silver yet. That's thru what I'm guessing to be about $300-400 in change. Even though it would be a slim chance of finding anything good, I never give up on looking! lol Welcome to the coin side!!