• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

A 50 cent tour of 1925?

21 posts in this topic

I grew up in northern California before the state was completely overpopulated. As a kid I used to go to the rivers and creeks in the gold country and pan for gold. I found only a few large flakes and small nuggets that way, but one spot that I used to pan at became a modern-day gold field and vultures staked claims. There was some money made by them, but not me. Nevertheless, my fascination with gold mining in the days of the 49ers and all of what wild California was about never died.

BTW, I once found a small nugget of gold in a doorstep made of river sand. smile.gif Still have that.

I worked as a park ranger for years, 2 of which were along the American River Parkway. I used to demonstrate gold panning and sluice mining techniques to park visitors. Had a blast.

Today, California commems are my favorites and I have long looked for choice specimens to add to my collection. I have the San Diego and the Bay Bridge, but just added the California Diamond Jubilee. Thanks to Darin Whittaker and his great taste for color, I "hit pay dirt!" I've seen but a few of these sweeties that were colored so, and none that were affordable. This one made my day...

615181-1925-S%20Cal%20Diam%20Jub%2050c%20MS64%20NGC%20obv%2004-829.jpg

615182-1925-S%20Cal%20Diam%20Jub%2050c%20MS64%20NGC%20rev%2004-829.jpg

Thought a few of you tone-lovers would appreciate that! cloud9.gif

Hoot

Mark,

Killer Cal !! I too am fascinated with the 'gold rush days'. I grab a fractional when the spirit moves me. Sometimes a token.....Very neat stuff....

A California like that one would make my day too !

Paul