• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What is up with the high premiums on everything?

37 posts in this topic

Silver is down to under $22 now yet I still see some silver selling for $30+ for common bars and rounds. I understand everyone is looking to jump into the market while silver is low, but for people to be paying some much above makes no sense right now. I understand Pamp and Englehard, and the government issued rounds, but some of the other stuff should not have such a high premium.

Are people just being over zealous? I am fairly new to the silver bullion game, but have been dealing with Silver US coins for awhile, not the same category right?

In my own opinion, the bullion dealers seem to raise their premiums when the market is in a downward trend because they know investors are buying. And when the market is on the upside, they lower premiums to attract buyers into making purchases at higher spot prices.

Let's take APMEX for example. I have bought from them before. I used to buy bars and rounds from them but now that I have some of my own equipment for making bars and rounds, I only buy the .999 fine industrial silver, or "silver shot/grain" as it is sometimes referred to. Their .999 silver shot usually sells for .99c per ounce over spot. A couple Sundays ago, the spot price of silver dropped below $21 per ounce soon after the market opened. I was going to make a large purchase that night until I noticed that the premium had gone up from .99c to $1.99 per ounce over spot for the exact same product. So needless to say, I did not make my purchase and found another dealer who was offering the same .999 fine silver shot for .79c per ounce over spot.