• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Focus... Try to Focus...

18 posts in this topic

I've been collecting for around 3 years now and I've gone through so many collecting ideas it seems beyond crazy. However, I do think I have a long term collecting plan put together finally. Before we get to the latest direction here's where I've been and most of these have seen some progress too:

1. Build a complete US Type Set for the PCGS Registry. - Scrapped

2. Building a complete Buffalo Date Set PCGS Registry. - Scrapped

3. Building a complete US Type Set with Toned Coins. - Scrapped

Where I'm at now:

Collecting toned coins that I enjoy pulling out a few times a week to look through with my boy. I really enjoy toned Washington Quarters and Toned Buffalo Nickels and I'm trying to do a date set of each. No rush, just buying what I enjoy and trying not to double too many dates.

I've switched collecting goals many times over the past 12 years. Some ideas I've held onto for only a couple weeks! It's all part of the journey :)

Currently I'm working on a 19th & 20th century toned type set. I'm also collecting reeded edge half dollars by die variety in collector friendly grades. These goals have lasted over a year now...hopefully they will stick around for a while longer!

Focus is tough in any field of collecting. I often find myself drawn to something but stop as it isnt in my core collection goals. Often when you become wide eyed about something you see, you may lack the proper knowledge which will lead to mistakes.

collect what you love and nothing else matters.

This pretty well sums up the situation.