• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GSA experts: What is an 1878 (P) dollar still in its original GSA holder worth?

13 posts in this topic

That is, a non-Carson City 1878 GSA. And, where can I research this coin?

Thanks!

Which tailfeather variety is it?

Chris

(shrug) but it shouldn't matter, as I believe it is extremely rare (maybe 3- 4 known?).

Thanks!

Chris

(shrug) but it shouldn't matter, as I believe it is extremely rare (maybe 3- 4 known?).

I only asked because I'm a fan of the 8TF.

Chris

Thanks!

Chris

OK, I'm not a Morgan expert but what is rare about this? I don't understand...but I'm curious!

jom

Thanks!

Chris

OK, I'm not a Morgan expert but what is rare about this? I don't understand...but I'm curious!

jom

It concerns the number of 1878-P - with what was it 8 tai feathers? - that are mounted in GSA holders. I don't care about this because I'm much more interested in coins than holders, but it does matter to some people.

In general you can find a nice example of an 1878, 8 tail feather dollar, fairly easily, but NOT in a GSA holder.

Here is an example of the coin.

18787o8TFO.jpg1878Dollar8TFR.jpg

Currently, there is only 1 1878 P GSA (Black Pack) graded by NGC, That would make your coin quite the rarity. The only NGC graded 1878 GSA is in the collection of GSA Gem Quest and that coin is a 7/8 tailfeather variety. This makes it very important what reverse is on the coin mentioned by the OP. While the quantities of Carson City GSA dollars is documented, there is no record of quantities or dates on the Non-CC GSA Morgans. We may never know exactly what dates and mintmarks were included in the GSA sales.