• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The agony

6 posts in this topic

My 1st Submission

My 1st Submission

I've been working on assembling top ranked mint sets for the years 1971 and 1967. The '71 set has come along nicely and quickly except now I've come to the point where I'm looking at shelling out big bucks for the coins I'd like to have. Circulation strikes of Lincoln cents in these years tend to be rather expensive in MS 67 RD.

Over the last couple months I have bought quite a few raw '71 and '67 Lincon Cents and figured that since I was a Collector's Society member I might as well take advantage of direct submission privileges - that way I'd save money by having these Lincoln Cents "Self-Made". Of course I'm new to collecting and don't know shinola about grading, and up to this point, I admit, probably have bought the holder and not the coin as some like to say.

NGC received my six coins for grading on 6/11/12. -- A G O N Y -- and a week later the results:

Coins for NGC Invoice Number 2581230

001 1943 1C ALTERED SURFACE

002 1971 S 1C MS 66 RB

003 1971 S 1C MS 65 RD

004 1971 1C UNC DETAILS OBVERSE WHEEL MARK

005 1967 1C MS 65 RB

006 1971 D 1C MS 65 RD