• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cleaning coins

8 posts in this topic

what do you folks think about cleaning coins, so i have a nice shiny set or should i leave them the way i got them. im just a beginner collector and have no plans for selling them. please give me your opinion

Before I answer your question, let me welcome you to the boards...

Ok, now to business!

Improper cleaning generally devalues your specimens. With very few and narrowly confined exceptions, dealers of antiques generally prefer specimens with original patina to one that has been stripped. Coins are no exception to this.

If your coins are really ``cruddy,'' then there are possibly ways to conserve them without damaging them. But, this is only under limited circumstances and usually done by an experienced curator.

Most folks would need far more information before they can tell you if it's possible to conserve your coins in a way that you'd like.

Regards,

EVP