• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Handling Coins, Sure this topic has been brought up...

14 posts in this topic

I've been collecting coins for my daughter's future for about 5 years now, I don't have a very interesting collection but its a nice collection to say the least, I haven't quite pin pointed what path I want to go, recently decided to stay with low population coins and see what happens... My question is this, Im so afraid of handling the coins with my bare hands, especially proofs and what not, How do you guys or girls do it and keep your nerves in check? For a while I was using cotton gloves but seem to have lost them, is there a specific glove I shouldn't use when handling coins cause of now Im to much of a nervous wreck to handle them with my bare hands on the rims, I still feel Im going to put a print or transfer oils some how,... Any stories tips anything would be appreciated....

Thanks

Nathan

I mostly always use white cotton gloves. If I use my bare hands then always by the edges. I don't fear the coins too much as I know these things have probably been handled by hundreds if not thousands of people already. When it comes to uncirculated and proofs, well all I can say is don't get soo nervous you drop them. Just handle with confidence and you shouldn't have any problems.