• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Draped Bust Half Help

11 posts in this topic

I'm contemplating buying the following coin in an old ANACS holder graded as VF-30; however, I am thinking that the grade is only around VF-20 (after comparing it to PCGS photograde). I'm new to the series, and don't own any pieces. Could anyone provide me advice on the grade of the coin? Is it a VF-20 (or lower) or is the old ANACS grade accurate? Any advice would be appreciated.

Please also note that the images are not mine, so I am unable to take any additional photographs.

Obverse.png

Reverse.png

Edited to add photographs.

not great photos and with early coinage it is impossible to grade from a photo as i cant tilt and turn the coin in different lighting sources

but from what i see in the photo and this is based just on the photos sight seen could be different

looks crusty and decently "original" and yes you are absolutelycorrect as the coin is a just made it vf-20 no more no less

From the photo it's hard to say if the coin is original and "crusty" or has artificial toning. The color and lighting in the photo do not allow me to make that call.

As to the sharpness grade, believe it or not ANACS got it right. The coin as a lot of hair detail and you can actually read "E Pluribus Unum" on the reverse, which is unusual for a circated coin from this series.