• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Has anyone ever "Returned" a PCGS Perfect coin?

14 posts in this topic

I am a novice collector and recently purchased a 1982 Washington Half (PR70DCAM) that I think is over graded. Generally the complaint with PCGS is that a 69 ~should~ be a 70 rather than the other way around.

1) Has anyone ever taken PCGS up on their grading guarantee? Since I'm not a dealer, I worry that I won't even get back what I paid for it.

2) What happens to it (assuming that it is flawed and I take PCGS up on their guarantee)? Is it re-slabbed at the correct grade? I don't want someone else to get stuck with it as a perfect coin.

3) Can I buy another PCGS PR70DCAM and have them re-slab into the signed holder if they agree that it is over graded?

4) I notice that in the PCGS price guide that a signed copy of the coin is worth less than another random 1982 Washington Half (PR70DCAM). Shouldn't a signed copy list higher than a non-signed copy?

I've attached pictures. The front appears to have a bag mark and scratch on it (the photo doesn't show the shine, just a black mark) between the second and third buttons. The back seems to have an imperfection in the metal.

Curious as to your thoughts on the questions above .... Am I too hard on the grader?

107522.jpg.423ed5b3490f5c24b982d3e46114529e.jpg

107523.jpg.f31dbbd9e6f01a212586e3a5af02aa80.jpg

107524.jpg.7d39fca2415e7a2a08c9f6fdd29a3fd2.jpg

The one area (left one) appears to be a "strike through" could be lint and would not be considered after mint damage but "struck as is" condition and so minute it would/should have no bearing on the final grade.