• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question about the ngc pop census

10 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am new to collecting certified coins. I was studying the ngc population report on morgan dollars because they are generous enough to give it out for free to new collectors like myself. I was wondering what the * stood for when for example they would print MS65 MS65* with two numbers for each, the MS65* population being very small or nonexistint. example: Year/ Mint Den Variety Desig Total PrAG G VG F VF 40 45 50 53 55 58 60 61 62 63 63* 64 64* 65 65* 66 66* 67 67* 68 68* 69 69* 70 Thanks.

Then they arbitrarily create extreme rarities at their discreation? I assume the * is on the holder.

PaulM,

Let me elaborate a little on RWW's answer to your question. NGC lists the '*' designation on the holders label for coins that have eye appeal above what would be conceded average for the coins assigned grade. The coin may be toned or white, but it will possess a quality well above the norm. For instance, if it is toned it will have monster toning, or if it is a white coin it may have super blast luster, something that jumps out at you.

I own a couple of coins with the ‘*’ designation and have seen a good number of others in person, and I can tell you that I have never seen a coin that NGC has given the star to that has not been something special. The kind of coin that when you see it you think WOW!