• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Updated: 1879-S Morgan - In-hand pics added

20 posts in this topic

Please grade and comment. These are the seller's images and all I have at the moment.

Got her today and added in-hand pics on the next page.

1879-SMorgan.jpg

hard to tell from the image, but i think this coin may be a PL, it appears to be pretty reflective. As far as grade goes i would say an easy MS64, maybe a 65. Since we are seeing more "+" grades around i am going with a MS64+ PL

Okay....

So I'm a complete beginner at Coin Grading and this is my first attempt... so you can probably ignore everything from here on out.

Based on everything I've learnt so far (keeping in mind my source of knowledge is the rambling of my father-in-law and several other "senior" friends and a few choice internet pages).

Here goes -

Obverse - The strike is good with clear lines and good detail in the hair and specifically around the ear. I see some wear on the cheek, chin and neck, along with the very back of the head (I would imagine, although I'm not too familiar with Dollars that these areas are the high points on the surface). There does appear to be a mark (could be on the slab) crossing from the lips in a rotated infinity symbol (for want of a better description) to the eye. It’s difficult to tell from the pictures but there could be a couple of nicks on the neck also.

Reserve - Again clean strike with breast feathers evident. There appears to be some wear near the wing tips.

It’s a nice looking coin. It doesn't appear to have been circulated (at least not widely) so an MS grade would be appropriate. With that said I believe it might be MS60 - 61.