• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1793 Chain Cent Is it worth conservation & Grading

15 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm new to the board I found this 1793 Chain Cent yesterday metal detecting and was wondering if I should send it in to NCS & NGS for conservation and grading. I want to preserve it's state but don't want conservation to remove anymore details. I'm not a expert on ths and I'm hoping some of the members here can give me some opions. I have included a link with pictures from a metal detecting forum I'm on. Thanks for any help that can be given.

http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/topic,333758.0.html

I don't think there is much that NCS could do for that one. It is corroded and heavily pitted from being in the ground, and I would be reluctant do very much to it because you might strip off what little detail is left. I’d enjoy it the way it is. Perhaps you could soak it in olive oil for a while or have someone put some Blue Ribbon or CARE on it to arrest any more corrosion, but any attempt to remove the surface corrosion will only make it worse or even unrecognizable as a Chain Cent.

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on a neat find. I would leave it as is, as I don't know what could be done to improve it noticeably, without making it look it look unnatural.

I would leave it alone and get it into a genuine NGC or PCGS genuine slab to authenticat it and to protect it. Removing any corrosion will remove some of the design detail which will hurt the coin.

I would leave it alone and get it into a genuine NGC or PCGS genuine slab to authenticat it and to protect it. Removing any corrosion will remove some of the design detail which will hurt the coin.