• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1831 CBH - Grade and Should I send to NCS?

14 posts in this topic

I recently bought this CBH and would like an opinion on it. I'm just getting into CBHs and enjoy their variety and history. While I'm new at this (and my photography skills are subpar), I think the Obverse is a relatively weak strike with some strange toning and the reverse is a strong strike with nice natural luster.

Looking at the obverse, where my concern is

Your opinion:

1. What do you think the Grade is?

2. Am I right to think the strike on the lower and upper right side of the obverse is weak, and the lack of definition is due to the strike rather than wear?

3. Should I send it to NCS for the obverse (unattractive) toning?

4. Would NGC bodybag this?

I've had good experience with NCS cleaning up a really ugly Flying Eagle cent that had 150 years of grime and was greasy to the touch. (Fonzie could have greased his hair with this one) Bought for $15 and graded for AU 53. Just back collecting this year after a 15 year hiatus.

Thanks in advance,

Shawn

86832.jpg.e1817806fbfe23aa0b63863fbff53156.jpg

86833.jpg.86ba1508979ac66808d5b53ab1f7efca.jpg

I think I have a good idea on my series when a coin is a good candidate for conservation but I do not collect these. On this one, I would say no. With the change to the NGC details grading, I'm not sure that someone can submit a coin for evaluation first to NCS. If so, I would probably do so unless you do not mind if it ends up in a holder with the details label. I would not and have several nice NCS coins that I will be sending for reholdering shortly. I believe the marketability will be improved.