• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Investing Suggestions?

20 posts in this topic

Hey

I am currently a student, but I have some money saved. I would like to make an investment, but I am not sure what kind? I am thinking somewhere around $1000 to invest. This will be my first investment (first of many I hope). I am open to any suggestions. This is money that I don't necessarily have to have immediate access to either. I have thought about doing lots of things, but I am not sure what is the best. Everything from buying a valuable coin and holding it, to mutual funds, and stock market.

Thanks for any suggestions

If you do not need the money fast and would rather not chance losing your money into the stock market, buy a few nice coins and hold onto them. Coins rarely go down in value if held 10 or 20 years. They only go up. I would suggest spending the first $100 on a few good books, before you buy anything. With that said ask questions and listen to what many say. There are tons of people willing to help you find the right coin for you. You will come to find you like certain coins and some not. By what you like, have fun, enjoy it and most of all, read all you can before buying.

Coins can be a fine investment in a well diversified retirement portfolio. With that said, coins make a terrible investment for people who have not invested a lot of time studying them. Even still, most experienced collectors will concede that they lost money on the first few coins that they purchased. I know that I did.

If you’re new to coins, I’d suggest you only spend a small fraction of your money on coins and anticipate losing most of that but being more knowledgeable from the experience. I’d invest the rest elsewhere.