• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Live Auction Premium

12 posts in this topic

OK, just came home from a live auction (second one attended, yes I am new to this).

I had my eyes on some proof sets from the 70's and 80's, and also GSA CC Morgan Dollars from 82, 83, and 84. I went early and looked at the morgans closely, they weren't anything special, the 83 being the best condition but I wouldn't guess a MS64. I have none to compare it to, but from scans online I would say 63, maybe 64. Regardless, these 3 coins ungraded sold for:

82CC - $275+tax

83CC - $300+tax

84CC - $195+tax

the proof sets sold for around 10-12 each.

All those prices seemed quite high. I also have to say that I was by far the youngest guy in the room at 38, probably by at least 10 years. I am now wondering if there is some sort of phenomenom at local auctions that cause prices to fly? Caught up in bidding? Old timers don't use the internet, but paper pricing? Maybe I missed how nice those morgans where? comments?

I plan on going to more auctions, but that one amazed me.

It's impossible to comment in specifics without having any idea what the coins looked like. ;) However, generally speaking, I believe that local auctions of uncertified coins tend to bring too much, rather than too little. That's because there are apt to be participants who don't know how to grade, who can be swayed by hype and who bid more than they should.

I know what you mean about being the youngest guy there - I just turned 24. Usually people are at least twice as old as me.

As Mark said, auction fever tends to take hold at local auctions. I have not participated in a live auction yet, but I'm quite sure I would succumb to the exact same thing.