• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Whoo-Hoo!!! Kinda' sorta' finished my toner Franklin set. 1960-D.

13 posts in this topic

Well, it's been a LONG time coming. I've been collecting MS Franklins since about 1988 (with about a 12 year hiatus in there from ~'91-'03). In 2003 I decided to collect the Franklin 1948-58 series (all the dates that were in cardboard mint set holders) in toned MS65 or better grade. Around 2005 I decided to expand it to the full 1948-63 series. Since then I've been slowly plugging along. Regarding the set I put together, FBL is nice, but not necessary. Also, I've got a variety of coins that DON'T have the FBL designation that I think are clearly FBL, and others, graded by both NGC/PCGS, that ARE graded FBL that IMO are NOT.

As per norm with most series the 80/20 rule applied... it took 20% of the time to find 80% of the date/mm, and 80% of the time to find 20% of the date/mm. Of course, during this interval it was possible to upgrade many of the more common date/mm. Needless to say, I learned a lot about Franklins, particularly with regard to the whole AT/NT issue. While there are a WHOLE bunch of toned Franklins out there, most of them are butt ugly. Finding nice ones was an enjoyable pastime.