• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need some help with an 1889-cc. Is it counterfeit?

62 posts in this topic

Hello, just bought an 1889-cc Morgan dollar, and am wondering if it is counterfeit. Weight is slightly lite at 26.37 grams. Diameter is slightly small at 1.494 in (37.95mm). The appearance of the coin is unlike any other I have, as a dull grainy appearance. There is an imperfection on the left wing upper edge, just under the "n". I paid quite a bit for this from a reputable seller, but from what I have been reading on the internet, that apparently doesn't account for much I guess.

Would appreciate any help, thanks....

DSC_0001.JPG

http://members.cox.net/40plymouth/DSC_0002.JPG

I am no expert on Morgans, so let me preface my statements with that. However, I am suspect of this coin for several reasons.

1. The complete lack of low point detail is uncharacteristic of a struck coin. The low points of a coin are the high points of a die - and should thus be all there. Notice how all detail seems to disappear in the recesses of her hair? That is a known characteristic of fakes, although it is more often seen on Trade dollars.

2. The unnatural surfaces are also suspect. If it is genuine, then it has been dipped to death and polished beyond all recognition, and is not a coin you would want anyways.

3. The denticles and rims really don't look right.

DSC_0001.JPG

It looks way off to me, but that could be due to the scan. It almost looks like it's made out of clay ready for firing. Even if authentic, it looks heavily cleaned as is my example shown below.

1889ccxfdetO-2-1.jpg