• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1828 Large cent

9 posts in this topic

I just bought this 1828 large cent, These are the best pictures that I could take before the batteries in the camera died.

I really liked this coin for its apparent originality. Even though its probably not worth it I would like to see it in a slab, It will be a free submission. What grade do you guys think it will get? Do you guys see anything that will keep it from slabbing?

IMG_1082.jpg

IMG_1083.jpg

It's a nice looking old Cent. I'm not an expert in these but I'm seeing alot of what looks like verdigris which might BB the coin as environmental damage.

It's a nice looking old Cent. I'm not an expert in these but I'm seeing alot of what looks like verdigris which might BB the coin as environmental damage.

A coin can have minor Verdigris and still be certified.

I would grade this coin Fine-12. EAC would call it a VG.

As to slabbing, I would be the last one to ask becuase I've gotten too many body bags on nice early copper. I would think that it would grade, but I would ask, "Why bother and for what purpose?" Serious copper collectors like their coins raw, and this looks like a nice piece for a circualted date or variety set.

i really like this coin and has a great original look to me with above average eye appeal and honest wear

myself i grade it vg ever so close to almost fine 11+

so for me if you get vg10 you will get robbed by the services

if it comes back fine-12 not a problem with me ikn the least i would buy this coin in a fine 12 holder anyday of the week and be happy with it as with these old coppers it is so much more than just the details grade